TataCliq CPA IN

NTPC Power Plants

NTPC is India’s largest energy conglomerate with roots planted way back in 1975 to accelerate power development in India.

Since then it has established itself as the dominant power major with presence in the entire value chain of the power generation business.

Flipkart IN

From fossil fuels it has forayed into generating electricity via hydro, nuclear and renewable energy sources.

This foray will play a major role in lowering its carbon footprint by reducing green house gas emissions. To strengthen its core business, the corporation has diversified into the fields of consultancy, power trading, training of power professionals, rural electrification, ash utilisation and coal mining as well.

NTPC became a Maharatna company in May 2010, one of the only four companies to be awarded this status. NTPC was ranked 400th in the ‘2016, Forbes Global 2000’ ranking of the World’s biggest companies.

The total installed capacity of the company is 51,708 MW (including JVs) with 20 coal based,  7 gas based stations, 1 Hydro based station and 1 Wind based station. 9 Joint Venture stations are coal based and 11 Solar PV projects. The capacity will have a diversified fuel mix and by 2032, non fossil fuel based generation capacity shall make up nearly 30% of NTPC’s portfolio.

NTPC has been operating its plants at high efficiency levels. Although the company has 17.73% of the total national capacity, it contributes 24% of total power generation due to its focus on high efficiency.

Sr. No.ProjectStateCapacity MWUnits
1Singrauli Super Thermal Power StationUttar Pradesh20005x200 MW, 2x500 MW
2NTPC KorbaChhattisgarh26003x200 MW, 4x500 MW
3NTPC RamagundamTelangana26003x200 MW, 4x500 MW
4Farakka Super Thermal Power StationWest Bengal21003x200 MW, 3x500 MW
5Vindhyachal Super Thermal Power StationMadhya Pradesh47606x210 MW, 7x500 MW
6Rihand Thermal Power StationUttar Pradesh30006x500 MW
7Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power StationBihar23404x210 MW, 3x500 MW
8NTPC DadriUttar Pradesh18204x210 MW, 2x490 MW
9Talcher Super Thermal Power StationOdisha30006x500 MW
10Feroze Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power StationUttar Pradesh15505x210 MW 1×500 MW
11Talcher Thermal Power StationOdisha4604x60 MW, 2x110 MW
12Simhadri Super Thermal Power StationAndhra Pradesh20004x500 MW
13Tanda Thermal Power StationUttar Pradesh17604x110 MW 2×660 MW
14Badarpur Thermal Power StationDelhi7053x95 MW, 2x210 MW
15Sipat Thermal Power StationChhattisgarh29802x500 MW, 3x660 MW
16Mauda Super Thermal Power StationMaharashtra23202x500 MW, 2x660 MW
17Barh Super Thermal Power StationBihar33003×660 MW 2x660 MW
18Kudgi Super Thermal Power StationKarnataka24003x800 MW
19NTPC BongaigaonAssam7503x250 MW
20LARA Super Thermal Power StationChhattisgarh40002x800 MW, 3x800 MW
21Solapur Super Thermal Power StationMaharashtra13202x660 MW
22Gadarwara Super Thermal Power StationMadhya Pradesh32002×800MW, 2×800 MW
23North Karanpura Thermal Power StationJharkhand19803×660 MW
24Darlipali Super Thermal Power StationOdisha16002×800 MW
25Khargone Super Thermal Power StationMadhya Pradesh13202×660 MW
26Telangana Super Thermal Power ProjectTelangana16002×800 MW